finding happiness in everything


This article is part 5 of a series. If you have not read part 1, part2, part 3, and part 4 – I urge you to do so if you are searching for help on this subject. If you’ve read along with me already, I want to welcome you into the next weeks of our journey and Knight’s recovery.

When O.D.D. strikes a child it appears as though their entire lives are going down the drain. Outsiders nonchalantly look on the child & their family as they whisper how pitiful it is that such a seemingly wonderful or normal child has gone so wrong.  Some will make open comments in public places, some will talk behind the child and family’s backs and smile to their faces.

The truth is simply that people on the outside looking in don’t have any idea what life is really like living with a child or teen affected by Oppositional Defiance Disorder. Whether people intend to or not, they judge the parents and certainly the children for the behavior. If you are a parent, you can’t let this get you down. If you want to change the oppositional behavior, you can’t give up, give in or let go. I know the tears you’ve shed. I know the impending doom you think you see & the failure you feel hover over you. There is hope & it’s layered in Love :-)

When we left off in the last article, I was sharing with you our progress up to week 5.  Let’s move ahead into weeks 6 & 7 after Knight moved in with us.

Theft
Near the end of week 5, leading into week 6, odd items began to disappear. My pocket knife I kept on my hip always was suddenly missing. It was a treasured memory item for me & I had worn for many years when I first started hiking. I asked everyone to help me find it. Supposedly no one had seen it. Everyone searched for it. It wasn’t until I broke down in tears that it reappeared – in plain site on the coffee table everyone had walked by for days. Coincidence?

I smoke cigarettes. I know it’s bad for my health & one day I’ll stop. Anyway, my lighter disappeared the same day the pocket knife reappeared. I asked everyone to look for it & no one could find it. Things had never disappeared before Knight came to live with us. It was an odd coincidence… :-(

By week 7 my oldest son complained about his batteries disappearing from his gaming wireless controller. My youngest son was missing some clothes. My husband’s lighter was missing. Everyone was missing socks. $20 disappeared from the change compartment in my car. The steak knives started disappearing from the kitchen! Finally, I confronted Knight about all these random item disappearances. He denied having anything to do with them.
One day we were inside a local service station getting drinks & snacks. Knight asked me to buy an energy drink for him. I said, “no”. Not happy with my answer, he decided he’d just help himself to what he wanted. He looked around & slid the small product into his pocket. I walked over to him & asked him if he’d had the pleasure of meeting any local law enforcement officers. “No”, he huffed. “Well dear, I love you enough to let you meet those 4 fine officers right over there.” I said pointing to a group of local & state officers. Knight’s face turned red, “You wouldn’t!” I smiled as big as I could & told him I was serious as a heart attack. Plus, they’d already seen him do it & were just waiting for me to walk away so they could arrest him. “This is a point in your life where you make a decision Knight. Go to jail over something as stupid & petty as theft or come home with me. If you choose jail or juvenile, I will NOT come get you out. Choice is yours. When I step away, your decision should already be made.” Knight quickly took the item from his pocket & placed it back on the shelf. On the way back home we talked about that ever-so important respect he wanted from others & the fact that theft was the lowest form of deceit. I emphasized that I have nor ever will have respect for a thief. A few weeks later all the missing items began to slowly resurface. The odd disappearances weren’t discussed any further. Things also stopped disappearing…

Drugs
Knight spoke often about drugs. Sometimes he said he missed them and sometimes he spoke regretfully about them. We had no available “drugs” in our home and no one around him that he could easily bum weed off of. He’d told me stories of living around them, doing them, & selling them. There is no future in drugs. He is with me to build a future, therefore drugs are counter-productive. I told him where I stood on the issue of drugs – NO.  No drug talk. No Drug t-shirts. No weed jokes. No drug innuendos. No drugs period. I told that anything that can alter your mind causes you to be out of control and more than anything, he wanted to be in control.

By the end of week 7, our focuses were the same.

  • Maintaining open dialog
  • Pointing out annoying behaviors
  • Bringing lies to Knight’s attention (Taking Ownership of his Words & Actions)
  • Structure in his daily life
  • Consistency in discipline

Knight was almost ready to start working on his next step: Relearning how to communicate with people to earn respect.

Comments on: "Theft & Drugs (O.D.D.)" (7)

  1. […] is the final article (part 12) of a series. If you have not read part 1, part2, part 3,  part 4, part 5, part 6, part 7, part 8, part 9 , part 10 , and part 11– I urge you to do so if you are searching […]

  2. […] article is part 11 of a series. If you have not read part 1, part2, part 3, and part 4, part 5, part 6, part 7, part 8, part 9 , part 10 – I urge you to do so if you are searching for help […]

  3. […] article is part 10 of a series. If you have not read part 1, part2, part 3, and part 4, part 5, part 6, part 7 , part 8 , and part 9 – I urge you to do so if you are searching for help on […]

  4. […] article is part 9 of a series. If you have not read part 1, part2, part 3, and part 4, part 5, part 6, part 7 , and part 8 – I urge you to do so if you are searching for help on this […]

  5. […] article is part 8 of a series. If you have not read part 1, part2, part 3, and part 4, part 5, part 6 , and part 7 – I urge you to do so if you are searching for help on this subject. If […]

  6. […] article is part 7 of a series. If you have not read part 1, part2, part 3, and part 4 , part 5 , and part 6 – I urge you to do so if you are searching for help on this subject. If […]

  7. […] article is part 6 of a series. If you have not read part 1, part2, part 3, and part 4 , and part 5 – I urge you to do so if you are searching for help on this subject. If you’ve read […]

Leave a Comment

Tag Cloud

60 days in Paradise (hopefully)

Join me, going to beautiful places, learning, and laughing.

Fresh Start On an Old Life

Just a Mom - connecting life to a higher power.

The Green Box Garden

Island Style Gardening & Plant Based Living

The Last Hiker

Following Him Up The Mountain

mission:husband

Because your family is counting on you.

phoblography

an outlet for my photos

Southernly Haute' Handmade

Designer fabric bags,friendship charm bracelets, & vintage heirloom treasures

sarah withrow king

hanging at the intersection of evangelical theology, community, family, and animal liberation

Arts 'n Heartz

Inspirational art, micro fiction and poetry by Nathalie Markiefka

J. Disciple Blog

Personal and reflective writings/vlogs that is geared to glorify God!

✿ 。◕‿◕。 ✿ Donicia's World ✿ 。◕‿◕。 ✿

Thoughts. Adventures. Photography. Bits & Pieces

Many Hats of the Hairstylist!

Life behind the chair; raw, uncut, unfiltered, and some cool trends and style casting along the way!

The Bipolar Experience

Just the rantings of an extraordinarily multi faceted bipolar chick

I see beauty all around by rob paine

Pro Photographer Rob Paine's (of DeepCreekImages.com) stories behind his photos along with some helpful photo tips

pacificparatrooper

This WordPress.com site is Pacific War era information

The Variety of Life

A Travel Blog (yes, another...)

Zany Zach's Blog

Amateur blog for mostly Film/CD/Book/TV reviews .........

First Comforter Church

John 14:16 And I will pray the Father, and he shall give you another Comforter, that he may abide with you for ever;

Father Says...

one dad's thoughts on life

The not really news blog

Using sarcasm, satire, and usually fiction to examine today's burning topics

Heartafire

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

sophoxymoria

29 year old dude tumbling through life's obstacle course...

Judith Conte

CHANGING THE WAY PEOPLE DIVORCE

Jack Dey

The Author

The World Through My Eyes

Ramblings of an Aspiring Writer

Arcilla y fuego

Una visión sobre el complejo y apasionante mundo de la cerámica

Busy Mind Thinking

Wait! What?!

My Daily Prayer

a praying wife and mum about

Twinfamy

the epic blog of a father of twins

Daily Devotions, News and Information

Scriptures, Lessons, News and Links that will help you survive in this world we live in --- Isaiah 54:17 No weapon that is formed against thee shall prosper; and every tongue that shall rise against thee in judgment thou shalt condemn. This is the heritage of the servants of the LORD, and their righteousness is of me, saith the LORD. KJV

Three Iron Nails

Sharing The Gospel of Christ

Lucy Literati

A modern mum's musings

Processing the life

Travel, Photography, Writings and other things I like

witlessdatingafterfifty

Relationships reveal our hearts.

SettledInHeaven.org Blog

A text & video blog striving to honor Our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ through Bible lessons, devotionals, Sunday School studies and small group studies.

beverlyshelby

An award free blog. Thank you so much for stopping by, your "likes" (or not), and your comments. I appreciate each of you and enjoy your blogs and your creativity. So here's to a new year of friends, photos, and words!

LukesGC

Home Repair and Restoration

Rebeca Jones

Building Standing Stones

Dream Blog - Musings, Observations

- Sharing my dreams and my pearls.

Dree Speaks Freely

Clearing My Thoughts. Speaking My Mind. On My Own Terms.

WNC Travel Intelligence

Travel Cheaper, Travel Better, Travel More

Tennessee Christian News ™

State, national and world news for Tennessee Christians

Adventures of a Dirt Poor Earth Mama

The successes and failures of a mother and a Pagan.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,784 other followers

